Posted By LambChop
Tiger Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty at the Masters on Saturday for taking an “illegal drop” during Friday's second round. Woods, the world's No. 1 player, is in the hunt for his fifth green jacket and 15th major championship.
Tiger was deemed by the Masters' Rules Committee to have taken an illegal drop on the 15th hole. He was not disqualified, however, for signing an incorrect scorecard as a result of a rule change two years ago when Paddy Harrington was caught in an illegal action (ball movement) that a viewer saw on their high-def television.
Envious haters criticized Tiger on Twitter:
I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage.— David Duval (@david59duval) April 13, 2013
Penalize the 14 year old, save the cash cow...a tradition unlike any other #Masters— Luke Russert (@LukeRussert) April 13, 2013